To be seen as others see you

I never cease to be amazed at how people see me.  To listen to them, I sit on a claw-shaped throne, wearing an armored exoskeleton holding a goblet of red something while my assistants play Velcro dwarf-toss in the hall.  Now that is one hell of an image and I wish to hell it were true.

I really wish I had the money to make it true!!

Actually, I’m more likely to be sitting in a tee-shirt and pants in a desk chair in the combination office-laboratory that is so stuffed with things that there is barely room to fit a dwarf, much less toss one!  But the image is fun and I really do enjoy it.

Now, where am I going with this?

How people see you really does matter.  If you leave an image in their minds of some sort of comic-book character it may be silly if you think about it, but it actually makes you interesting to those who get that image.  If  they were to see you as a derelict looking in dumpsters for papal memorabilia you would have far less credibility, or in my case, incredibility because some of the things ascribed to me are truly incredible.  NO!  I never levitated the apartment building across the parking lot!  (Where do they come up with these things?)

So it does not hurt to spend a little time thinking about your image.  There is a place for the judgmental and the censorious if you know how to carry it off.  Don’t merely be who you are, work a little on who you want people around you to think who you are.  You will be amazed at the results.

One Response to “To be seen as others see you”

  1. Deborah Says:

    Changing ones persona is important – especially if you are into descreet, diabolical stuff. Or, you just want to reinvent yourself to feel better. I’m all for creating a new me! Without the plastic surgery that is. ; )

Leave a Reply

