Ideas

It never ceases to amaze me how frightened people are of thinking. It is as if an idea that they cannot grasp, or worse, conflicts with their way of doing things, is like unto the Black Death.

One of the joys of Heresy, of not merely thinking outside the box but setting the box on fire along with everyone in it, is the annoyance it causes to the Orthodox. I can just imagine Martin Luther, sitting with pen in hand, thinking, “This will give the Pope hives!” I know the feeling. There are times when I write something so totally outrageous that even I look at it and wonder where my brain is going and start laughing at the looks on some folks’ faces when they read it.

Leave a Reply

