No News

It has been a long time since I bothered to look at a newspaper, or even read one on online. I never watch the news on television and thus I find that my blood pressure has dropped, I enjoy my food more and I am less annoying to be around. The last is important as I do have my poor wife to think of.

When I think of all the time I wasted over the years “being informed” when there was really nothing that I needed to be informed about, I could literally kick myself. I stopped watching news on cable after being treated to one too many car chases in California, as if I would care about a car chase in California, or anything else in California unless perhaps it should fall into the ocean to the sound of the rest of the country laughing. I put an end to local news after having to jump up from the dinner table to mute a story about animal cruelty for the last time and I just don’t care to read the paper anymore, with its editorial boards kissing the rears of anyone who will raise taxes.

Will I watch the news again? Maybe the day after the November elections for a few minutes to hear the losers cry in their beer and if a new war breaks out. The ones going on now are just too boring to bother with.

Good riddance to it.

Leave a Reply

